You are here

  1. Lake Front
    Any property that borders the state-owned ‘buffer strip.' Lake Front means you have access to the water for swimming and a boat dock if applicable to your home. You can go directly to the water from your door with no road between. Lake Front does not necessarily mean you have a view of the water, since much of our shoreline is wooded.

  1. Marsh Hill Rd.
Pets Not Permitted
4 Beds
3 Baths
12 Guests
4.4242
(33 Reviews)

Search Availability

Description

DESCRIPTION:
A Signature Collection home! Craving a classic lake vacation? We know just the place- A Stone’s Throw is the ideal choice for your next getaway! The location of this charming lakefront home could not be any more perfect. Nested along Marsh Hill Road, this home is just a short drive away from many top destinations in the Deep Creek area, including the Wisp Resort and many other restaurants, bars and shopping destinations. Plus, the property itself is pretty spectacular! Your private lakefront with it's towering timbers surround the property for additional privacy. Beautifully furnished and covered in charming lake décor, A Stone’s Throw was designed for comfort. Isn’t it time to get the gang together? Book today!

ACCESS DETAILS:
Private lake front with private dock located on property. Please note that docks are only guaranteed from Memorial Day through Labor Day.

COMMUNITY/AREA DETAILS:
Located along Marsh Hill Rd. at Deep Creek Lake.

This home comes with free access to the Community Aquatic Recreation Center (CARC)! This fitness and wellness complex, located in the central Deep Creek Lake area, offers a modern gym and a full-size indoor pool. The free CARC membership is available to all guests in the home for the duration of your stay, up to the home’s full occupancy. 


LAYOUT DETAILS:
Upper Level
- Bedroom: King Bed, Daybed w/ Trundle, Access to Full Bath
- Bedroom: Queen Bed & 2 Sets of Twin Bunk Beds
- Full Bath: Shower

Main Level
- Great Room
- Dining Room
- Kitchen
- Bedroom: Full Bed
- Bedroom: Queen Bed
- Full Bath: Shower/Tub

Lower Level:
- Game Room: Full Sleeper Sofa
- Full Bath: Shower
- Laundry

DISCLAIMERS:
4WD/AWD or snow tires are always recommended for the area during the Winter months of November - March. For more house specific driveway information, please refer to your app/guest portal after booking.

Amenities

Additional Details

  1. Area of Lake: North
  2. Boat Trailer Parking: Permitted, 1 Trailer = 1 Parking Space
  3. Family Groups Only
  4. Firewood: Not Provided for Fire Pits/Outdoor Fire Areas
  5. Firewood: Provided for Wood Fireplaces (Valid: 9/15 - 4/15)
  6. Minimum Rental Age: 24
  7. No Smoking Allowed
  8. Pets: Not Permitted
    No pets are permitted at this property; however because all of our homes are owned by individual homeowners, we cannot guarantee any home is free of allergens.
  9. Signature Collection
    These properties are all about excellence. Each home in our Signature Collection has met specific requirements to maximize its appearance, quality, and comfort. Our Signature Collection homes facilitate the best guest experience possible.
  10. Water Equipment Not Provided (i.e. Kayaks)

Booking & Renting Details

  1. Winter: 2+ Nights
  2. Spring: 2+ Nights
  3. Summer: Saturday - Saturday
  4. Fall/Autumn: 2+ Nights
  5. Holidays: 3+ Nights

Community Perks

  1. CARC Indoor Pool & Fitness Membership (Book Conf. = Entry Pass)
    This home offers access to the Community Aquatic and Recreation Center (CARC) for indoor pool and fitness use, at no extra cost! This membership allows access of up to the maximum number of occupants the house sleeps (ex. if the home sleeps 12, then 12 people are allowed). There are no physical passes for this amenity, please bring a copy of your booking confirmation (emailed upon booking and completion of your contract) as your access.

Inside

  1. A/C: Central Air
  2. Bath Towels Provided
  3. Bed Linens Provided
  4. Fire Extinguishers: 1
  5. Fireplaces (Wood): 2
  6. Foosball Table
  7. Internet: Wifi
  8. Landline Phone: None
  9. Utilities: Broom, Mop/Bucket, Dust Pan

Bed Sizes & Suites

  1. Bedroom Suites: 1
  2. Kings: 1
  3. Queens: 2
  4. Full: 1
  5. Twin Bunk Beds: 2
  6. Daybeds w/Trundle: 1
  7. Full Sleeper Sofas: 1

Inside | Appliances

  1. Blenders: 1
  2. Coffee Makers (Drip): 1
  3. Coffee Makers (Single Cup: K-Cups Not Included): 1
  4. Crock Pots: 1
  5. Dishwashers: 1
  6. Electric Griddles: 1
  7. Electric Hand Mixers: 1
  8. Full-Size Fridges: 1
  9. Microwaves: 1
  10. Ovens: 1
  11. Stoves: 1
  12. Toasters: 1
  13. Washers: 1
  14. Dryers: 1

Inside | Electronics

  1. Blu-Ray Players: None
  2. DVD Players: 1
  3. Gaming: X-Box
  4. TVs (Flat Screen): 1
  5. TVs (Smart): 4
  6. TV Provider: Comcast Xfinity

Outside

  1. Corn Hole
  2. Grills (Gas): 1
  3. Max. Parking: 4 Vehicles
  4. Outdoor Fire Pits (Gas): 1
  5. Outdoor Hot Tubs: 1

Outside | Dock

  1. Private Dock: 2 Motorized Vessels Allowed

Availability

Rates subject to change. Rental homes are only available to be booked one year in advance.

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
August 2021
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2021
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2021
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2021
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2021
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
May 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

Location

1647 Marsh Hill Road, McHenry, 21541 USGet Directions

Reviews

Add a Review

Beautiful view of the lake!

Reviewed on 2021-07-20 by Bonnie
Updated on 2021-07-20
4
Beautiful location on the lake…inside could use some updating of furniture but other than that was a perfect family vacation!!
Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay, Bonnie, and thanks for your feedback! We'll be sure to pass along your comments to the owner. Come back and visit us again soon! - Lainey, Railey Vacations

5 stars if we had a working sofa bed

Reviewed on 2021-07-11 by Joy from Philipsburg, Pa USA
Updated on 2021-07-11
4
We loved the house. Wished the sofa bed in lower level was not broken. We really counted on it for an extra bed we needed. Everything else was lovely.
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback, Joy - our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences faced during your stay. We'll be passing along your comments to the owner to ensure all is in working order for your next visit. I'm glad to hear that, overall, you were able to enjoy a relaxing stay, and we sure hope to have you back again soon. - Lainey, Railey Vacations

A Stone's Throw. Good Stay

Reviewed on 2021-06-03 by Ali
Updated on 2021-06-03
3
Nice Property and Good Stay
Hi, Ali! Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back with us soon! - Seneca, Railey Vacations

A stones throw was perfect, right on the lake and the view is beautiful from the upper deck. enjoyed every moment there. thank y

Reviewed on 2021-05-13 by Devalyn
Updated on 2021-05-13
5
Railey vacation homes are beautiful in general. any house you stay at from them, im sure you will be happy. A Stones Throw was perfect for me and my friends and we enjoyed the hot tub, the gas fireplace outside and just listening to music. lots of memories made and it is one for the books. Thank you Railey Vacations
We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at A Stone's Throw and can't wait to have you back soon. ~Deborah Fike, Railey Vacations 

Relaxing Stay. Great home just needs minor adjustments.

Reviewed on 2021-04-28 by Erica
Updated on 2021-04-28
5
The house is beautiful and when we had an issue getting our 4WD pick up truck out of the driveway, the staff was very responsive with sending us suggestions for towing companies. The great thing is that we were able to get our truck out. Pros: The house is beautiful, roomy and the set up is beautiful. The linens were clean and every bed was equipped with towels and wash cloths. The view is gorgeous and is close to Wisp resort and local arcades. There is a grocery store across the street and Walmart is only 20min. away. 1. The cons of this property is definitely the driveway. Having salt and shovels will not always help. We had 2 FWD vehicles that had trouble getting out. They should pave the driveway b/c it is really steep. When it rains, this really causes problems. 2. The furniture in the downstairs family room is worn and torn. If you don't move the throw pillows, you will not see it. 3. There were also minor things that were broken in the home that the owners should know about such as one of the shelves in the refrigerator and one of the shower doors. 4. The deck was huge but it was worn. They should have someone retouch it.
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience, Erica! We truly appreciate your feedback and use it to ensure that your next visit will be even better than the last. I'm thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy a relaxing stay at A Stone's Throw overall. We sure hope to see you again soon! - Lainey, Railey Vacations

Vacationed In April 2021

Reviewed on 2021-04-07 by Kristina
Updated on 2021-04-07
4
The only concerns we had were that the main freezer melted our items and that there were alcohol cans scattered in many outside areas that were not cleaned up from prior guests.
We appreciate you letting us know, Kristina. We'll be sure to address these concerns! We hope you'll be back to visit again soon. - Jenn, Railey Vacations

Great place to stay!

Reviewed on 2021-03-31 by Bria
Updated on 2021-03-31
5
Very clean, wonderful experience. Will book again. (Reviewed on VRBO)
Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your time at A Stone's Throw and can't wait to have you back soon. ~Deborah Fike, Railey Vacations 

Vacationed in March 2021

Reviewed on 2021-03-31 by Tyler
Updated on 2021-03-31
4
Good place. Lots of places for people to sleep. Beautiful back deck area. (Reviewed on Airbnb)
Thanks for the review, Tyler. Glad you had a good time, please come back and see us again soon! - Jenn, Railey Vacations

Vacationed in February 2021

Reviewed on 2021-02-28 by Jicelle
Updated on 2021-02-28
5
This house was perfect for a quick getaway to Wisp. Really close to the resort. There was 10 of us at the house and we all slept comfortably. The upstairs bathroom is a Jack & Jill situation so just a heads up for groups. The hot tub was a great addition! The homes view was dreamy. I would definitely recommend AWD if traveling in the winter months. During our stay there was no overhead vent for cooking requiring us to open doors and windows which wasn’t ideal and it caused a film of grease on the floor. The house had much to offer and would love to come back in the warmer months! (Reviewed on Airbnb)
Thanks for the feedback, Jicelle. Yes, we absolutely recommend 4WD/AWD for the area in general during the winter months. There should be a fan in the microwave above the stove for ventilation, so we'll be sure to check that out and ensure it's working properly. So happy to hear you otherwise enjoyed your stay! Please come back and see us again soon. - Jenn, Railey Vacations

Good

Reviewed on 2021-02-24 by Mark
Updated on 2021-02-24
4
The place was nice. Great location on the lake, but also by the ski slopes. My only complaint is the driveway. If you come in the winter and it snows at all, your car will get stuck. It doesn’t matter if you do or don’t have four wheel drive. If the company left a bucket of sand in the rental for people to use to get their stuck cars out, that would probably solve the problem.
Hi Mark, thank you for letting us know about your issues with the driveway. During the winter we plow every 4" and salt/shovel the walkways and outside living spaces. We typically leave salt and a shovel for guest use at their convenience as well. If you decide you'd like to rent with us again in the winter and find you're without salt but would like some on hand, please feel free to give us a call and we'd be happy to drop some off to you! We hope you'll be back to see us again in the future. - Jenn, Railey Vacations

Vacationed in January 2021

Reviewed on 2021-01-31 by Matthew
Updated on 2021-01-31
5
The house is clean, great property and great location. Would recommend. (Reviewed on Airbnb)
Thanks for the review, Matthew! So glad you had a great time, please come back and visit soon. - Jenn, Railey Vacations

Vacationed In December 2020

Reviewed on 2021-01-07 by Kathleen
Updated on 2021-01-07
3
No Additional Comment
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, Kathleen - we hope to have you back soon! - Lainey, Railey Vacations

A Stone's Throw

Reviewed on 2020-11-18 by Kaylee
Updated on 2020-11-18
5
Railey’s had the BEST customer service. We had to call about a few things that were very inconvenient (we were locked out of the house the first day) but maintenance/someone came to help within 5 minutes. I would HIGHLY recommend this company. They take care of you!
Kaylee, I am so glad to see we were able to respond to your needs quickly! We will be looking forward to having you back at Deep Creek Lake soon! - Seneca, Railey Vacations

Clean, cozy, and convenient!

Reviewed on 2020-11-05 by Rikki
Updated on 2020-11-05
4
A Stone’s Throw was perfect for our family of 8. Clean (very clean!) and roomy while still being cozy. Lots of activities nearby, including Wisp and local arcades. Shopping nearby.
We're so happy A Stone's Throw was the perfect accommodation for you and your group, Rikki! We appreciate the review and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. - Jenn, Railey Vacations

Nice place

Reviewed on 2020-10-31 by David
Updated on 2020-10-31
4
Good (Reviewed on VRBO)
Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us. We're so happy to hear you had a good time at A Stone's Throw, and wait to have you back soon. ~Deborah Fike, Railey Vacations

Vacationed In October 2020

Reviewed on 2020-10-29 by Denise
Updated on 2020-10-29
3
Great location with amazing morning and evening views! Large deck spaces. Room to play corn hole. And an outdoor firepit to enjoy with friends and family! Clean and comfortable inside! (Reviewed on Airbnb)
Thanks for the review, Denise! So glad to hear you had a great time and we hope you'll be back to visit us again soon. - Jenn, Railey Vacations

Vacationed In October 2020

Reviewed on 2020-10-28 by Walter
Updated on 2020-10-28
5
No Additional Comment
Thanks so much for 5 stars, Walter! Thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Come back and relax again soon. - Lainey, Railey Vacations

Vacationed In September 2020

Reviewed on 2020-09-18 by Donna
Updated on 2020-09-18
5
No Additional Comment
We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed a 5-star stay, Donna! Come back and relax again soon. - Lainey, Railey Vacations

Get away and enjoy nature

Reviewed on 2020-08-31 by Marsha
Updated on 2020-08-31
5
Excellent management Beautiful home Wonderful setting (Reviewed on VRBO)
Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us. We're so happy you enjoyed your time at A Stone's Throw, and can't wait to have you back soon. ~Deborah Fike, Railey Vacations

Vacationed In July 2020

Reviewed on 2020-08-25 by Tammy
Updated on 2020-08-25
4
We loved A Stone’s Throw. It was beautiful and very well equipped! There is a gas fireplace on the lower deck and a fire pit next to the lake that we loved! We would definitely rent this house again!
Happy to hear it, Tammy! Please do come visit us again soon! - Jenn, Railey Vacations

Relaxing week but not what we were promised during booking

Reviewed on 2020-08-25 by Molly
Updated on 2020-08-25
4
We were told upon booking that this house was a “signature” home. Which meant it had to meet a higher standard for rentals. The pictures are beautiful when looking on the site. Unfortunately , that is not the case. The decks and pitches are in desperate need of painting/staining. The lights on the porch edges were all falling off. There was broken debris sitting on the decks railing And metal “tiki lights” strewn all over the yard on the ground broken like no one had picked them up in quite some time. The property was very much in need of some work which was not what we expected for the money we paid for a “signature” home. The inside of the home was really nice, fully stocked with whatever you would need. The upstairs toilet didn’t work well and the downstairs tub took a very long time to drain but all in all the home was nice.
Hi Molly, thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention and we apologize some aspects did not meet your expectations. We'll be sure to investigate and make repairs as quickly as possible to improve the experience for future guests. Glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay here and we hope you'll give it another shot in the future. - Jenn, Railey Vacations

Vacationed In June 2020

Reviewed on 2020-07-06 by Jennifer
Updated on 2020-07-06
4
No Additional Comment
Thanks so much for your review, Jennifer! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Come back again soon! - Lainey, Railey Vacations

Vacationed In June 2020

Reviewed on 2020-06-29 by Gerard
Updated on 2020-06-29
4
Very nice house for a family vacation. Comfortable for my family with three adult children and their significant others and grandson. We enjoyed the decks and dock despite a rather rainy and cool week. Great hot tub.
Glad you had a great time, Gerard! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we hope you'll come back and visit again soon! - Jenn, Railey Vacations

Vacationed in May 2020

Reviewed on 2020-05-31 by Shia
Updated on 2020-05-31
5
The place was Amazing it's owned by a company So it's not the quickest response but the place was Clean And it was as good as in the pictures maybe even better the Lake is a really good Ad on (Reviewed on Airbnb)
Sorry to hear that our response times were not up to your expectations, Shia. We were a little understaffed due to COVID precautions and apologize for the inconvenience. We're glad you enjoyed the home and hope you'll give us another try in the future! - Jenn, Railey Vacations

Vacationed in January 2020

Reviewed on 2020-01-27 by Vicki
Updated on 2020-01-27
5
The house was wonderful. It had enough space for our family. I would recommend this house to any families and friends.
Happy to hear it, Vicki! We hope you'll be back to see us again soon, thank you for taking the time to leave a review! - Jenn, Railey Vacations

amazing time

Reviewed on 2019-10-01 by Alex
Updated on 2019-10-01
5
My group and I had an amazing time during our stay at A Stones Throw. Not a single item/amenity was missing from this home. It comfortably accommodated 11 adults for a long weekend of kayaking, swimming, fishing, hiking and mountain biking. We had just as good a time hanging out at the house as we did venturing out and doing other activities throughout DCL. It was my first time and many people in my parties first time in Deep Creek and it quickly became one of our favorite spots. We can't wait to make it back.
Thank you for the review, Alex! So happy to hear you had just as great a time at the house as you did exploring Deep Creek Lake. Please come back and see us again soon. - Jenn, Railey Vacations

a great stay

Reviewed on 2019-09-16 by Christine
Updated on 2019-09-16
5
This was our first family vacation where we all attended. 2 one year olds, a 3 year old, their parents, and us the grandparents. We all loved it and had a great stay.
Glad you and your family had a great time, Christine! Please come back and see us again soon. - Jenn, Railey Vacations

Vacationed in August 2019

Reviewed on 2019-08-25 by Susan
Updated on 2019-08-25
5
No Additional Comment
Thanks so much for 5 stars, Susan! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back and relax again soon. - Lainey, Railey Vacations

Quiet and clean

Reviewed on 2019-05-05 by Justin
Updated on 2019-05-05
5
We appreciated how quiet and clean everything was.
And we appreciate the great review, Justin! Thank you and we hope to see you again soon. - Jenn, Railey Vacations

Great Place to Stay

Reviewed on 2018-11-05 by John
Updated on 2018-11-05
5
We booked A Stone's Throw for a long weekend. There were 6 adults and 6 kids. House was perfect size. Huge outdoor decks with ample space. Spent every night with a fire going on the deck. Hot tub was great. Lake access was perfect for fishing. We did not have a boat but we used the dock for fishing. Kitchen was fully stocked. Easy 3 minute drive to Wisp. Smooth check in/out. It was a perfect house for a long relaxing weekend.
Thanks for the great review, John! So glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us again soon. - Jenn, Railey Vacations

A total gem

Reviewed on 2018-10-31 by Nicole
Updated on 2018-10-31
5
Our group LOVED staying at A Stones Throw and we plan to rebook our annual trip here again! The location is perfect, close to everything, and being right on the lake was a treat. The house is beautiful and the kitchen supplies pretty much everything you could imagine you'd need. It was rainy so we didn't get to utilize the deck as much as we had hoped. The driveway is steep so having 4wd was a plus since it got a little slick while we were there. The only suggestion would be to mark the fireplaces with direction on which way to turn the knob to open the chimney and how many turns (takes more turns than we were expecting and it got a little smokey before we realized). We know for next time to "just keep turning" :) Thanks for allowing us to experience a fun weekend away!
We are so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful time, Nicole! Thanks for the feedback regarding the fireplace - we'll be sure to pass along your comments. We're looking forward to having you back again next year and have our fingers crossed that it will be sunny for you! - Lainey, Railey Vacations

Reviewed on 2018-08-31 by Judith
Updated on 2018-08-31
4
We had a great time. The place was beautiful. It was nice to have all of our activities so close by. The only thing that made me rate it as good instead of great is that it stated no pets and we found cat hairs around the house and my daughter in-law is allergic to them and she sneezed the whole time.
We're sorry to hear that your daughter-in-law had allergy troubles, Judith - because each of our rentals is privately owned, we are unable to ensure that any home is completely free of allergens. We certainly understand that allergies can be a big disruption, and are so glad that your family was able to enjoy a relaxing stay despite them. Thanks so much for sharing your feedback, and we sure hope to have you back again soon! - Lainey, Railey Vacations 

Beautiful Property!

Reviewed on 2018-06-18 by James
Updated on 2018-06-18
4
The home has a great outdoor space which makes it ideal. Great outdoor furniture to relax as well.
Thanks so much for the great review, James! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Come back and relax again soon. - Lainey, Railey Vacations