You are here

  1. Lake Access
    Any property that has a specific, dedicated place to access the water for swimming or a boat dock (if applicable). The property owner does not own the access area. You may be able to walk to the water or you may need to drive to the area, depending on the particular property. Most Lake Access areas are designated by the community or HOA.

  1. Marsh Hill Rd.
Dog Friendly
5 Beds
3 Baths
House
13 Guests
4.2143
(28 Reviews)
13 Views
(Past 24hrs)

Search Availability

Description

DESCRIPTION:
Set against the beauty of the mountainside, Mountain Joy offers beautiful sunrises and privacy amidst the trees. This charming chalet is classically furnished and well equipped to make your vacation dreams a reality. Idle the day away on the covered porch or revel at the beauty of a star-studded evening while relaxing in the bubbling hot tub. The cathedral ceilings, native stone fireplace, and expansive windows set the scene for an unforgettable Deep Creek vacation. Mountain Joy is less than 2 miles from the ski slopes & within an easy 5 minute drive of other great mountain-lake activities.


ACCESS DETAILS:
Lake Access and dock slip located along Marsh Hill Road across from our property called "Dreamers Overlook." Docks are a first come first serve basis. Please note that docks are only guaranteed from Memorial Day through Labor Day.


COMMUNITY/AREA DETAILS:
Located along Marsh Hill Rd. at Deep Creek Lake.
This home comes with free access to the Community Aquatic Recreation Center (CARC)! This fitness and wellness complex, located in the central Deep Creek Lake area, offers a modern gym and a full-size indoor pool. The free CARC membership is available to all guests in the home for the duration of your stay, up to the home’s full occupancy. 


LAYOUT DETAILS:
Main Level:
- Living Area
- Dining Area
- Kitchen
- Bedroom: Duo Bunk Bed
- Full Bath: Shower
- Laundry
- Bedroom: Queen Bed
- Game Room: Pool Table, Wet Bar
- Bedroom: Queen Bed 
- Bedroom: Queen Bed
- Full Bath: Shower/Tub


Upper Level:
- Bedroom (Suite): King Bed, Attached Bath with Shower/Tub


DISCLAIMERS:
4WD/AWD or snow tires are always recommended for the area during the Winter months of November - March. For more house specific driveway information, please refer to your app/guest portal after booking.

DOG BREED LIMITATIONS: Even in dog-friendly homes, it’s prohibited to bring any dog with a history or instance of aggressive or reactive tendencies. We welcome any dog which you know to be well-socialized, trained, and friendly in any situation involving others, both human and canine, as there may be nearby dogs at neighboring properties. However, due to restrictions in place by homeowner insurance policies, breeds listed as most aggressive are banned from all rentals, regardless of the training and temperament of the individual dog. You can view this restriction list and our full policy regarding dogs at https://www.deepcreek.com/contact-railey under “Pet Policies”.

Amenities

Additional Details

  1. Area of Lake: North
  2. Boat Trailer Parking: Permitted, 1 Trailer = 1 Parking Space
  3. Check-In Time: 4:00pm
  4. Check-Out Time: 10:00am
  5. Family Groups Only
    No sororities, fraternities, or non-chaperoned groups allowed.
  6. Firewood: Not Provided for Fire Pits/Outdoor Fire Areas
  7. Minimum Rental Age: 30
  8. No Smoking or Vaping Allowed
  9. Pets: Dog Friendly (Max. Allowed = 2)
    This home allows you to bring up to 2 dogs, without any additional fee. Please review the dog friendly portion of the contract upon booking, for full details.
  10. Water Equipment Not Provided (i.e. Kayaks)
  11. Wooded Setting
  12. Remote Check-In

Bed Sizes & Suites

  1. Bedroom Suites: 1
  2. Kings: 1
  3. Queens: 3
  4. Duo (Twin/Full) Bunk Beds: 1
  5. Queen Sleeper Sofas: 1

Booking & Renting Details

  1. Winter: 2+ Nights
  2. Spring: 2+ Nights
  3. Summer: Mini Summer (3 Night Min.)
  4. Fall/Autumn: 2+ Nights
  5. Holidays: 3+ Nights

Community Perks

  1. CARC Indoor Pool & Fitness Membership (Book Conf. = Entry Pass)
    This home offers access to the Community Aquatic and Recreation Center (CARC) for indoor pool and fitness use, at no extra cost! This membership allows access of up to the maximum number of occupants the house sleeps (ex. if the home sleeps 12, then 12 people are allowed). There are no physical passes for this amenity, please bring a copy of your booking confirmation (emailed upon booking and completion of your contract) as your access.

Inside

  1. A/C: Central Air
  2. Bath Towels Provided
  3. Bed Linens Provided
  4. Fire Extinguishers: 1
  5. Fireplaces (Gas): 1
  6. Landline Phone: Available for Use
  7. Pool Table
  8. Internet: Mesh WIFI System

Inside | Appliances

  1. Coffee Makers (Drip): 1
  2. Dishwashers: 1
  3. Full-Size Fridges: 1
  4. Microwaves: 1
  5. Ovens: 1
  6. Stoves: 1
  7. Washers: 1
  8. Dryers: 1

Inside | Electronics

  1. Blu-Ray Players: None
  2. Desktop Computers: 1
  3. DVD Players: 1
  4. TVs (Box): 1
  5. TVs (Flat Screen): 2
  6. TVs (Smart): 1

Outside

  1. Grills (Gas): 1
  2. Max. Parking: 5 Vehicles
  3. Outdoor Fire Pit (Wood): 1
  4. Outdoor Hot Tubs: 1

Outside | Dock

  1. Dock Slip: 1 Motorized Vessel Allowed

Availability

Rates subject to change. Rental homes are only available to be booked one year in advance.

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
December 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
January 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
October 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

Location

2184 Marsh Hill Road, McHenry, 21541 US
Attraction Approximate Distance
Axe Throwing 0.76 mi
Escape Rooms 1.78 mi
Skiing & Snowboarding 1.82 mi
Deep Creek Lake Discovery Center 3.01 mi
Deep Creek Lavender Farms 4.57 mi
Museums 9.08 mi
Bowling 9.17 mi
Corn Maze 11.08 mi
Get Directions

Reviews

Add a Review

Great Stay

Reviewed on 2022-11-11 by Benny
5

Everything was wonderful and the check in/out was very smooth

Hi Benny! Happy to hear that you and your group had a great time with us and had an easy and convenient experience! Thanks for the review and please come see us again soon!
Madison Miller, Railey Vacations

Great House, great vacation!

Reviewed on 2022-07-12 by Sean
5

Mountain Joy was perfect, and the fire pit got hours of relaxation and quality time.

Hi Sean! We are so glad to hear that you and your group had a great time at Mountain Joy! Thanks for leaving us a review, and please come see us again soon!
Madison Miller, Railey Vacations

Clean and comfortable.

Reviewed on 2022-06-22 by Steven Guldan
4

Nice and quiet. Inside of the house was clean with comfortable furniture. Pool table was a nice touch.

Hi Steven! So glad to hear that you and your group enjoyed your time at Mountain Joy and that the home was comfortable along with the added bonus of the pool table. Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again in the future!
Madison Miller, Railey Vacations

Great space!

Reviewed on 2022-06-08 by Ellen Lewis
4

Beautiful house! Plenty of room for our group of 11. We loved the spacious deck, hot tub and fire pit especially. The game room area was nice. Dog friendly was a nice aspect. Lots of wildlife in the area--we saw a family of bears which was exciting for all.

This is amazing to hear Ellen! We are so glad that the location, amenities, and home all came together to create a wonderful rental experience for you and your group! Thanks for the review and please come see us again here soon!
Madison Miller, Railey Vacations

Vacationed In April 2022

Reviewed on 2022-05-26 by Tifondaray Sheard
5

Highly Recommend…You Won’t Want To Miss Out On The Fun.

We're so excited to hear that your stay at Mountian Joy exceeded your expectations, Tifondaray. Thank you for the fabulous review. We look forward to hosting you again soon. -Susan, Railey Vacations

Vacationed In April 2022

Reviewed on 2022-04-25 by Carlos Orozco
3

OK

Hello, Carlos. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Mountain Joy. Guest experience is very important to our homeowners and to us. We will take a look at your survey for more specific details about our stay and forward any comments or suggestions you had to the homeowner. We would love to host you again for another Deep Creek Lake vacation. -Susan, Railey Vacations

Vacationed in February 2022

Reviewed on 2022-04-08 by Rajendra Shrestha
5

Good place good stay and free firewoods.

We're glad you enjoyed your visit to Deep Creek, Rajendra, and we hope you'll return soon! - Lainey, Railey Vacations

Vacationed in February 2022

Reviewed on 2022-04-08 by Courtney Papanicolaou
5

Great cabin, plenty of room and super clean! Highly recommend.

Thanks for your review, Courtney! We're so glad you had an awesome time in Deep Creek and we hope you'll visit again soon! - Lainey, Railey Vacations

Vacationed in December 2021

Reviewed on 2022-03-29 by Juan Lopez
5

Great place, will be coming back! They do say it in the manual, but something to consider is that you have to bring your own dish soap, hand soap, toilet paper/towels etc. A bit of a hastle and would like not to think about those things on a getaway. Otherwise would highly recommend the location and house.

Thanks for your review, Juan! Upon booking, we do like to send out a list of provided items and a list of those items we suggest guests bring along for their stay. For the safety of our guests, we do not provide toiletries (including soaps), paper products, cleaning supplies, or food items. We appreciate your patience and understanding with regard to this policy and are so glad to know that this did not prevent you from having a great time overall. We hope for the opportunity to host you again soon! - Lainey, Railey Vacations

Unsatisfied

Reviewed on 2021-12-29 by Dayna
1

Not clean and horrible mattresses

Thank you for your review, Dayna. I’m so sorry to hear that the housekeeping at Mountain Joy did not meet your expectations and appreciate you alerting us to your concern. Cleanliness is our team’s top priority, and for this reason, we do have a policy in place (outlined in your booking confirmation) which encourages our guests to contact us within 24 hours of their arrival should any aspect of the housekeeping be found unsatisfactory. This way, we can send someone to accommodate and ensure that the entirety of your stay is thoroughly enjoyable. We regret that we were not given the opportunity to address your concerns prior to your departure and sincerely hope for the opportunity to remedy this disappointment with a fantastic DCL getaway in the future. Until then, we have alerted our housekeeping team to your comments. We have also relayed your feedback regarding the mattresses to the homeowner for review. Because bedding preferences vary so greatly, it can be difficult to find a solution that is perfect for every guest; that said, feedback is always appreciated and considered. We hope you had a wonderful New Year, and we look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again in the future. - Lainey, Railey Vacations

Mountain joy in the pouring rain

Reviewed on 2021-10-26 by Kirsten
4

Although it rained our entire stay the large windows, covered porch, and tree lined property, still made it a beautiful weekend. We still had many activities to choose from inside such as the pool table and board games. The beds were comfortable and we had more than enough space.

I’m so glad you had a wonderful time at Mountain Joy despite the rainy weather, Kirsten! We hope you’ll visit again soon. - Lainey, Railey Vacations

Vacationed In August 2021

Reviewed on 2021-08-31 by Faith
5

No Additional Comment

Vacationed In June 2021

Reviewed on 2021-06-29 by Ruth
3

If you do not want lake access this is a nice house to stay in.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mountain Joy, Ruth! If you're interested in renting a lake-front property for your next visit, you can scroll through our property index to browse the homes that meet your needs. We sure hope to see you again soon! - Lainey, Railey Vacations 

Vacationed In April 2021

Reviewed on 2021-05-05 by Edward
5

No Additional Comment

Amazing stay in deep creek with a few friends

Reviewed on 2021-03-31 by Matthew
4

Our stay at Mountain Joy was for a birthday weekend away with a few friends. Overall, the house was very nice and spacious enough for several people. The pool table, hot tub, fire pit and large kitchen table were great to have. The only complaint I have would be the outside could have been cleaned a little better. It also wasn’t directly on the water but public access was only a very short walk down the road.

Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Mountain Joy, and can't wait to have you back soon. ~Deborah Fike, Railey Vacations 

Highly recommend if you have any little ones in your group.

Reviewed on 2021-02-01 by Mark
5

Highly recommend if you have little ones in your group. The living area is all one floor and you are able to see through from one end to the other. Kids had plenty of room to run around. Floors were kid friendly. We enjoyed the pool table and hot tub. Dining area was nice and big for our large family.

Thank you for your kind words, Mark! We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay at Mountain Joy and can't wait to have you back soon. ~Deborah Fike, Railey Vacations

Vacationed In December 2020

Reviewed on 2020-12-31 by Cali
3

No Additional Comment

Vacationed In August 2020

Reviewed on 2020-09-28 by Jennifer
4

Great house for a family get away. Lots of space, the layout allowed for privacy for all. Loved the spa and fire pit. While the furniture is dated, it was nice that we didn’t have to worry about the two dogs. We rented again for next year.

We're so glad you enjoyed Mountain Joy, Jennifer, and we look forward to having you back again next year! In the meantime, we'll share your feedback regarding the furniture with the homeowner for reference when making updates. Thanks for sharing, and we'll see you soon! - Lainey, Railey Vacations 

Vacationed In August 2020

Reviewed on 2020-09-22 by Matthew
3

The house met our needs, but now that we have a better awareness of the area, we'd choose something not as far up the hill.

Vacationed In September 2020

Reviewed on 2020-09-21 by Cathy
3

We had a wonderful time but the hike to the lake was a bit to much for us. We rented a boat for the week so I would like to rent something closer to water.

We understand, Cathy! Our wonderful reservationists can assist you in finding a Lake Front home that meets all of your needs. When you're ready to begin planning your next getaway to Deep Creek, please don't hesitate to reach out. We're glad you had a good time at Mountain Joy overall and look forward to your next visit to DCL. - Lainey, Railey Vacations 

Vacationed in May 2020

Reviewed on 2020-06-02 by Candice
3

The home has great layout and there is ample parking, but it needs some TLC, the deck and furniture were filthy, there was leaves that hadn’t been cleaned up from the fall on the porch walkway to the front door. A guest really shouldn’t have to sweep the decking when they arrive. Several of the shelves in the kitchen cabinets are sagging very badly, at some point they will break. The counter granite is beautiful though. We had a nice weekend with family, we all just thought the house could be amazing with a little bit of care and updates.we also had to add about 5 inches of water to the hot tub as the jets would not work. After the water was added it worked nicely.

I'm sorry to hear that some aspects of Mountain Joy did not meet your expectations, Candice, and will be sure to share your feedback with our maintenance team and the homeowner in order to have your concerns addressed as soon as possible. We also regret to hear that you found the outdoor areas to be particularly unkept; our landscaping team will be visiting to ensure these areas are up-to-par for future guests. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and are glad to know that you had a good stay at Mountain Joy overall. - Lainey, Railey Vacations 

Vacationed in May 2020

Reviewed on 2020-05-18 by Jimmy
4

Comfortably slept 6 people and 2 dogs. We loved spending time at the fire pit, deck area, and hot tub!

We're glad your group was comfortable and entertained at Mountain Joy, Jimmy! Please don't hesitate to visit again soon. - Lainey, Railey Vacations

absolutely loved our stay

Reviewed on 2020-01-14 by Teresa
5

This home is so worth staying in. I love the set up and the openness. Everything feels close and open and homey. I love how everything is on one floor. Even the single upstairs bedroom is close and I love that! No one feels far away. I love all the big windows that allow all the view and light in. The sliding gate on the deck is genius! We absolutely loved our stay here.

I'm so glad to hear that you had a wonderful getaway at Mountain Joy, Teresa! Thank you for this great review. We hope you'll visit again soon! - Lainey, Railey Vacations

Great home

Reviewed on 2019-05-24 by Amelia
5

It was a great home, loved the hot tub and the pool table. A little inconvenient to reach the docks for fishing especially for the older ones but we had a great time and they want to have a longer weekend next time!

Railey Vacations 12/07/19: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Deep Creek Lake, and we hope to host you again soon. 

Reunion

Reviewed on 2019-03-30 by Tina
5

Wonderful time had by all. Perfect lay out, to enjoy spending time with each other. Plenty of room to spread out and relax. Unfortunately we did not get to use the firepit outside, due to weather, but the fireplace inside was lovely. The only thing that was a little problem was those of us that had animal allergies, could tell animals had been in the house. That might be a deterrent to some booking. All in all, I would recommend this to many, and already have, as a place to visit.

I'm sorry to hear that some members of your group had allergies during your stay, Tina! While Mountain Joy is a dog-friendly rental, we do have plenty of homes available that do not permit renters to bring their pets. If you feel this would better suit your group, please don't hesitate to reach out to our wonderful reservationists who can assist you in finding a home that meets this need and any others you may have (perhaps a fire pit to make up for the bad weather during this visit?). Thanks for taking the time to leave your review! We are so glad to know that you had a great time at Mountain Joy overall and hope we can host you again soon. - Lainey, Railey Vacations 

Reviewed on 2019-03-11 by Courtney
5

Our family, 7 adults and 3 kids, thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mountain Joy. The house was in a wonderful location, clean, and setup perfectly for relaxing and entertaining. The pool table brought us lots of fun as did the hot tub and the fire pit. Would definitely rent this house again!

I'm happy to hear that your family had a blast at Mountain Joy, Courtney! Thanks for staying with us. We hope to host you again soon! - Lainey, Railey Vacations

Great place to stay!

Reviewed on 2019-01-24 by Lawrence
5

Great place to stay! Easy check-in, great communication, and perfect location for skiing. Just as advertised in the photos, it is a huge space and suited all 13 of us very well. The management company has done a good job with this house and someone was always available to help. The Jacuzzi was a huge bonus! Definitely recommend.

Thanks for this great review, Lawrence, and for the kind words about our team! We're happy to hear that your group enjoyed a fun and relaxing getaway at Mountain Joy. Please come back soon! - Lainey, Railey Vacations 

Nice place

Reviewed on 2018-10-09 by Christopher
5

Had a great time! Plenty of room for the whole family!

We're so glad that your family felt right at home at Mountain Joy, Christopher! Please don't hesitate to visit again soon. - Lainey, Railey Vacations