You are here

  1. Lake Area
    Any home which does not come with any type of designated access to the lake but is located within the lake area. While these homes do not have access to the lake, they potentially offer many other great benefits, such as beautiful mountaintop views, quiet communities, great locations, and more. You can reserve a boat ahead of time at a local marina, or access the lake through the public state park, which offers a sandy beach.

  1. DC Highlands
Pets Not Permitted
3 Beds
3 Full Bathrooms
1Half Bathrooms
House
8 Guests
4.1176
(17 Reviews)

Search Availability

Description

DESCRIPTION:
With an ideal lake area location, Lucky Number 8 is perfect for an adventurous or relaxing vacation! Just minutes from the slopes of the Wisp Resort and ASCI and a short drive down the mountain to even more lake area fun, there is plenty to do no matter what the season. Start your days by having your coffee out on the deck area as you breath in the fresh mountain air while you plan your day. Will you stay in? Enjoy the great community amenities like the trails or tennis court? Head to the lake or hit the skis? No matter what you choose, Lucky Number 8 is the perfect place to be the heart of your Deep Creek Lake vacation. At the end of the day plop down in the living room and get cozy in front of the fire and start planning for the next day!

ACCESS DETAILS:
No additional details provided for this home.


COMMUNITY/AREA DETAILS:
This home is located in the DC Highlands Community at Deep Creek Lake.
Access for up to 6 guests at a time at the DC Highlands Community Associations amenities, including use of the community pool, pavilion, restrooms, tennis/pickle-ball court, basketball court, and playground.
Community Outdoor Swimming Pool: Open Memorial Day Weekend - Labor Day, 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. daily.


LAYOUT DETAILS:
Main Level:
- Kitchen
- Living Room
- Dining Room
- Powder Room
- Laundry

Upper Level:
- Sitting Area
- Bedroom (Suite): King Bed, Attached Full Bath with Shower and Separate Tub
- Bedroom (Suite): Full Bed, Attached Full Bath with Shower/Tub

Lower Level:
- Den Area
- Family Room: Queen Sleeper Sofa
- Full Bath with Shower/Tub
- Bedroom: Full Bed

DISCLAIMERS:
4WD/AWD or snow tires are always recommended for the area during the Winter months of November – March. For more house specific driveway information, please refer to your app/guest portal after booking.

Amenities

Additional Details

  1. Area of Lake: North
  2. Boat Trailer Parking: Permitted, 1 Trailer = 1 Parking Space
  3. Check-In Time: 4:00pm
  4. Check-Out Time: 10:00am
  5. Family Groups Only
    No sororities, fraternities, or non-chaperoned groups allowed.
  6. Firewood: Not Provided for Fire Pits/Outdoor Fire Areas
  7. Minimum Rental Age: 24
  8. Mountain Views
  9. No Smoking or Vaping Allowed
  10. Pets: Not Permitted
    No pets are permitted at this property; however because all of our homes are owned by individual homeowners, we cannot guarantee any home is free of allergens.
  11. Water Equipment Not Provided (i.e. Kayaks)
  12. Contactless Check-In & Check-Out

Bed Sizes & Suites

  1. Bedroom Suites: 2
  2. Kings: 1
  3. Full: 2
  4. Queen Sleeper Sofas: 1

Booking & Renting Details

  1. Winter: 2+ Nights
  2. Spring: 2+ Nights
  3. Summer: Short Summer Stays (3 Night Min.)
  4. Fall/Autumn: 2+ Nights
  5. Holidays: 3+ Nights

Community Perks

  1. Community Basketball Court
  2. Community Building
  3. Community Covered Pavillion
  4. Community Fire Pit Area
  5. Community Grills
  6. Community Playground
  7. Community Seasonal Outdoor Swimming Pool
  8. Paved Trails Nearby
  9. Picnic Table Area
  10. Walking Trails Nearby
  11. Community Tennis/Pickleball Court

Inside

  1. A/C: Central Air
  2. Bath Towels Provided
  3. Bed Linens Provided
  4. Fire Extinguishers: 1
  5. Fireplaces (Gas): 1
  6. Internet: Wifi
  7. Landline Phone: None
  8. Carbon Monoxide Detector(s)
  9. Smoke Detector(s)

Inside | Appliances

  1. Coffee Makers (Drip): 1
  2. Coffee Makers (Single Cup: K-Cups Not Included): 1
  3. Dishwashers: 1
  4. Full-Size Fridges: 1
  5. Microwaves: 1
  6. Ovens: 1
  7. Washers: 1
  8. Dryers: 1

Inside | Electronics

  1. Blu-Ray Players: None
  2. DVD Players: 1
  3. TVs (Flat Screen): 1
  4. Peak WIFI Speeds: 25+ Mbps
    Speeds measured based on one user using service provider's network performance at time of testing. Data rates dependent on household usage and subject to variations.

Outside

  1. Max. Parking: 4 Vehicles

Outside | Dock

  1. No Dock Use Available

Availability

Rates subject to change. Rental homes are only available to be booked one year in advance.

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
June 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
September 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
June 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 

Location

105 Mountain Overlook Court, McHenry, 21541 US
Attraction Approximate Distance
Deep Creek Axe Throwing Company 0.61 mi
Monkey Business Adventure Park 0.62 mi
Aquatic Center 0.63 mi
Adventure Sports Center International (ASCI) 0.90 mi
Deep Creek Fun Zone 0.93 mi
Black Bear Tavern & Restaurant 0.97 mi
Pine Lodge Steakhouse 0.98 mi
Short Story Brewing 1.02 mi
O.M.G. Relax & Gifts 1.02 mi
Cashmere Clothing Co. 1.11 mi
Lodestone Golf Course 1.12 mi
Outdoor Elements at Wisp Resort 1.15 mi
Deep Creek Marina 1.45 mi
Fantasy Valley Golf Course 1.49 mi
Ledo Pizza 1.57 mi
Trout's House Seafood 1.59 mi
The Greene Turtle 1.59 mi
Funland 1.63 mi
Glazed & Confused Donuts 1.64 mi
High Mountain Sports 1.66 mi
Deep Creek Pizza 1.67 mi
Brenda's Pizzeria 1.72 mi
Trader's Coffee House 1.73 mi
Bear Creek Traders 1.74 mi
Perkins Restaurant & Bakery 1.74 mi
Moonshadow Restaurant & Bar 1.75 mi
Canoe on the Run 1.76 mi
Ursus Americanus Trading Post 1.76 mi
Deep Creek Salon 1.76 mi
Shop 'N Save 1.77 mi
Mountain Flour Bakery 1.77 mi
Silver Tree Marine 1.79 mi
Archie's Barbeque 2.02 mi
Bill's Marine Service 2.16 mi
Massage at the Lake 2.41 mi
Katie's Ice Cream 2.44 mi
Fork Run Recreational Area 2.50 mi
Deep Creek Donuts 2.68 mi
FunTime Watersports 2.69 mi
Copper Kettle Popcorn Factory 2.69 mi
Lakeside Creamery 2.70 mi
Ace's Run Restaurant & Pub 2.73 mi
Deep Creek Seafood 2.80 mi
Firewater Kitchen & Bar 2.81 mi
Christmas Chalet 2.83 mi
Tourist Trap 2.84 mi
Garrett 8 Cinemas 2.89 mi
Uno Pizzeria & Grill 2.91 mi
Honi-Honi Bar 2.93 mi
Arrowhead Market 2.94 mi
Mountain State Brewing Co. 2.96 mi
Fox's Pizza 2.99 mi
Casselman Bakery & Cafe 3.00 mi
JG's Pub 3.19 mi
Deep Creek Lake State Park 3.27 mi
Dutch's at Silver Tree 3.29 mi
Deep Creek Lake Discovery Center 3.57 mi
Schoolhouse Earth 3.65 mi
219 Indoor Flea Market 3.79 mi
Little Sandy's 3.81 mi
Fireside Deli & Wine Shop 3.86 mi
Sang Run State Park 3.97 mi
Deep Creek Lavender Farm 4.22 mi
Swallow Falls State Park 4.31 mi
Garrett State Forest 5.70 mi
Sang Run Sports Shop 5.94 mi
The Rolling Pin Bakery, LLC 6.07 mi
Firefly Farms Creamery & Market 6.30 mi
Thousand Acres Lakeside Golf Club 6.44 mi
Maryland 4-H Environment Education Camping Center 6.50 mi
Shawnee Trading Post 6.92 mi
Herrington Manor State Park 7.47 mi
China Wok 7.81 mi
Don Patron 7.93 mi
Wal-Mart Supercenter 8.14 mi
Dairy Queen 8.26 mi
El Canelo Mexican Restaurant 8.32 mi
Denny's 8.49 mi
Oakland Golf Club 8.52 mi
Alpaca Acres Farm and Fun 8.58 mi
3rd Street Diner 8.89 mi
Alpine Lake Resort 8.91 mi
Simon Pearce Glassblowing 9.07 mi
Precision Rafting Expeditions 9.09 mi
All Earth Eco Tours 9.11 mi
Pizza Hut 9.14 mi
Garrett County Museum of Transportation 9.19 mi
Garrett County Historical Museum 9.24 mi
The Book Mark'et & Antique Mezzanine 9.24 mi
Rudy's Clothing 9.26 mi
The Vagabond Taproom 9.31 mi
Englander's Antiques & Grill 9.31 mi
Devlers Ice Cream Co. 9.33 mi
Tomanetti's Pizzeria & Italian Eatery 9.38 mi
The Alley 9.43 mi
Miner Hickory Horseback Riding 10.43 mi
Cove Run Farms 10.89 mi
Sugar & Spice Bakery and Cheese 11.72 mi
Schrock's Country Store 11.73 mi
Big Run State Park 11.79 mi
Saffitickers Ice Cream 13.24 mi
New Germany State Park 13.82 mi
Blue Moon Antiques 15.41 mi
Hey Pizza 15.43 mi
Grantsville, MD 15.46 mi
JTF Ice Rink 15.55 mi
The Casselman Hotel & Restaurant 15.57 mi
Casselman River Bridge State Park 15.88 mi
Penn Alps Restaurant & Craft Shop 15.98 mi
Grant's Mercantile 16.00 mi
Cornucopia Cafe 16.02 mi
Backbone Mountain Sports Shop 16.54 mi
Bruceton Wellness Center & Himalayan Salt Cave 16.99 mi
Hill Top Fruit Market Home of Candyland 17.54 mi
Savage River Lodge 19.74 mi
Get Directions

Memories

Photos submitted are of the guest's personal experience; photos may contain items or experiences not offered by Railey Vacations for your stay. Please contact Railey Vacations for any doubts or questions about items offered. These images are meant to inspire others with the possibilities of what memories they can make on their trip. Submitted images that do not follow this theme will not be posted.

Reviews

Add a Review

Vacationed February 2024

Reviewed on 2024-01-30 by ADAM
4

The house was in great condition, plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms. Surprising amount of space. The biggest concern was coming in and finding dead bugs on the floor. The house wasn’t dirty or anything, it had just turned into a bug graveyard while sitting vacant.

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us with your feedback, Adam, and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of the insects in the home you experienced during your stay with us. Our Railey staff strives for a 5-star clean with each stay, however, we are only human and sometimes we do miss our mark. In the future, please do not hesitate to call our office and we will quickly send out a housekeeper to remedy the issue. Otherwise we are pleased to hear that there was plenty of space for all. I hope that you and your group had an otherwise good experience during your stay and that you'll allow us to host your group again in the future. I'm confident we can prove ourselves a favored vacation spot if given another chance! Madison, Railey Vacations

Vacationed December 2023

Reviewed on 2024-01-02 by Ryan
4

Enjoyed this lovely house over new years. However, I really wish it had at least 1 main TV in the living room… there was a tiny one in the basement that only played DVDs. It’s prime NFL/college football season and we had nothing to watch on. I also wish there was a hot tub, for a mountain house a hot tub is always an added bonus and would’ve paid more to have a house with one. Another thing, I wish there was a game table (pool, ping pong, shuffle board etc.) something to spice up the place. Overall, the house was clean and worth the money.

We appreciate you taking the time out to leave us with your thoughts Ryan! We will be sure to pass along your suggestions to the homeowners for consideration for future improvements! Otherwise we are so happy to hear that you and your group had a good New Years with us and we hope to see you again soon! Madison, Railey Vacations

Nice House

Reviewed on 2023-07-31 by Margie
5

Highly recommend

Reviewed on 2023-07-23 by Alyssa
5

The house was clean, great location, close to everything but still secluded. Will definitely stay here again

Thanks for the review Alyssa! Happy to hear that the home, location, and amenities all came together for a great rental experience. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Madison, Railey Vacations

Lovely stay

Reviewed on 2023-01-03 by Richard
5

House was clean and ready for us great location

Happy to hear that the home and the location were optimal for you and your family Richard! Thanks for the review and please come see us again soon! Madison, Railey Vacations

Bare rental No TV no Sleep

Reviewed on 2022-12-21 by Stephanie
2

The location was great, the house could have been great but we had a terrible stay. To be fair- we reported these issues to the property management company both during our stay and when we returned and they didn’t do anything about it. We had such a terrible stay that we left a day early. We never leave reviews unless positive, but since receiving no redress from Railey Vacations, we thought we would steer other families away until the issues were remedied. Biggest issues- security alarm went off 4-5 times in the middle of the night without explanation and woke everyone in the house up. No explanation was provided on how to work the alarm or turn it off. There was no explanation or book In The house to tell us how anything worked. No tv at all in the house- only one was in the basement and only connected to a VCR/DVD player. Many of the dvd cases were empty. Fire place didn’t work. Kitchen was Not well equipped. Description in the listing said there was a coffee pot with k-cups, but there was only a drip coffee. Beds were super uncomfortable. The house is very large for many people to stay, however the furniture and the house is just generally bare- mismatched furniture in the rooms and living areas, mismatching cups and plates, etc. There were many dead and live flies in the master bedroom and bathroom. Very strange and bothersome noises from the exterior of the house all night long. The house could be great- just needs help.

Hi Stephanie! We appreciate you taking the time out to leave us with your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay with us and will reach out to our Guest Experience department to relay these issues/concerns so that we can begin to remedy the situation. We also sincerely apologize for the lack of cleanliness, we are only human and we do sometimes miss our mark, however we do want to provide top tier cleaning services and apologize. We will also pass along the issues concerning the beds, lack of TV’s, and furniture to the homeowners for improvements for future rentals! Again, thank you for taking the time out to bring these issues to our attention and we hope that in the future we have the opportunity to rent to you again to provide the best rental experience possible!
Madison Miller, Railey Vacations

Vacationed In May 2021

Reviewed on 2021-05-13 by Linda
3

No Additional Comment

Highly Recommend!!!

Reviewed on 2021-01-26 by Megan
5

We stayed at this house for MLK day weekend and had a great stay. The house is brand new and comfortable. It was perfect for enjoying a snowy weekend.

I'm happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at Lucky Number 8, Megan! Thanks for your review. We hope to host you again soon! - Lainey, Railey Vacations

Vacationed In February 2021

Reviewed on 2021-03-25 by Daniel
5

No Additional Comment

Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience at Lucky Number 8 with us. 

Vacationed In March 2021

Reviewed on 2021-03-31 by Adam
4

No Additional Comment

Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us. ~Deborah Fike, Railey Vacations

Overall nice place, but has some flaws.

Reviewed on 2021-08-19 by Samantha
3

I think the structure of the home is great! It's ideal for winter. I would however re-think a summer stay at this home. The outdoor accommodations are not good. No outdoor seating, no fire pit and not even a grill was on the property. The home itself was beautiful, but be prepared to clean. The end tables were extremely dusty, the carpet needed vacuumed, and there was hairs left behind in the sink in the main bathroom...YUCK!! Beds are extremely firm, but good if you like that. The community pool is nice and had many friendly people there.

Hi there, Samantha - thanks for your review! I’m so sorry to hear that you found some aspects of the housekeeping to be unsatisfactory. Our team prioritizes cleanliness and, while we always do our best to ensure each rental is in tip-top shape for arriving guests, please know that you can give us a call within 24 hours of your arrival should you find your rental in need of extra attention from our housekeeping team. We are happy to send someone to accommodate. Lucky Number 8 is indeed a popular winter rental and, as such, has fewer warm-weather amenities. You can find more information about a rental’s amenities under the “Amenities” tab in the description or by giving us a call. We’re here to answer any questions you may have and, most importantly, to help you find the perfect home-away-from-home. We thank you again for taking the time to share your experience, and sincerely hope we can remedy any of your lingering disappointment with a fantastic stay in the future. - Lainey, Railey Vacations

Vacationed In June 2021

Reviewed on 2021-06-23 by Mary Ellen
4

No Additional Comment

Vacationed In July 2021

Reviewed on 2021-07-28 by Katie
5

No Additional Comment

Vacationed In August 2021

Reviewed on 2021-08-19 by Stan
4

Great location!

We're so glad you enjoyed the area, Stan! Please come back and visit us again soon. - Lainey, Railey Vacations

Not quiet what we thought

Reviewed on 2021-09-20 by Candice
4

Great place to literally unplug but don't mind the neighbors

I’m sorry to hear that you had some trouble with the neighbors, Candice. Please know that you can always give us a call when situations like this arise; we are happy to step in. I’m glad that you were still able to enjoy a nice getaway at Lucky Number 8. We hope that you’ll consider visiting again soon! - Lainey, Railey Vacations

Ok for a quick weekend away.

Reviewed on 2022-01-19 by Kristen
3

The house was nice for a quick winter weekend away, though the kitchen is sparse. As other reviews have said, the neighbors are very close. Beds are hard, kitchen faucet was broken.

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay at Lucky Number 8 overall, Kristen, and we appreciate your suggestions for how it could have been even better. We’ve shared your comments with the homeowner for consideration when making updates. Because bedding preferences vary so greatly, it is difficult to find a solution that is perfect for every guest. That said, feedback is always appreciated! We’ll also have our maintenance team take a look at the kitchen faucet to ensure everything is in order for our future guests. Thank you for your review! We hope to host you again soon. - Lainey, Railey Vacations

SKI VACATIONED IN JANUARY 2021

Reviewed on 2021-01-26 by Debbie
5

Great family get-away, comfortable and cozy - quick to the top of the mountain.

We're so glad you enjoyed Lucky Number 8, Debbie! Please don't hesitate to visit again soon. - Lainey, Railey Vacations